Through My Lens: October

Another month has passed by in a flash and I can’t believe the year is almost over. October treated me well. Work was busy as October is National Domestic Violence Awareness month and there are a lot of good people out there shedding light on the dynamics of an abusive relationship. It was also my best friends 25th birthday, and my schedule changed drastically. Here is my month in a few photos. Enjoy!
20131030-202641.jpg

As I mentioned above, October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month, and the National Domestic Violence Hotline launched a bunch of social media campaigns to raise awareness on domestic violence. Here I am explaining how I see domestic violence as a part of the #SeeDV campaign. Unfortunately, I #SeeDV everywhere, and I wish we were all talking about it. To find out more about the campaign and to check out how some of my co-workers also see dv, click here. By the way, these photographs were taken by my amazing friend Kate Kerns, isn’t she great!
20131030-202656.jpg

If you’ve talked to me anytime during the last three weeks then you know that my shift change is all I am focusing on lately. Pictured above is my savior on the first day of my new shift, and really my new life. I have been working overnight the past 4 years and am so excited to see how working “regular” hours will change my livelihood. I will keep y’all updated on that.
20131030-202714.jpg

Here is my beautiful best friend on her 25th birthday! Of course I had to buy her a children’s edible arrangement for the day. I really hope she enjoyed her day and I look forward to sharing many more birthdays with her.20131030-202730.jpg

Last weekend I made a trip to New Orleans for my best friends birthday. Here I am in Jackson Square in the French Quarter with my younger sister. I am SO glad she was able to come along and I really hope we can make room in both our schedules and budgets to take many more trips together. I hear Costa Rica calling out to us early next year.20131030-202746.jpg

The Vice President of the United States, Joe Biden is hugging me. I have no words to explain how amazing yesterday was. Joe Biden, author of the Violence Against Women Act, and Mariska Hargitay, founder of the Joyful Heart Foundation, visited the National Domestic Violence Hotline yesterday and I was lucky enough to meet them both! It was amazing to witness the passion that both of these domestic violence advocates have for our survivors. So amazing. And to hear them speak about the work we do and how much they appreciate it made my job that much more rewarding. It was an excellent way to end National Domestic Violence Awareness Month! If you would like to read more about their visit and check out more awesome photos, check out it here. And yes, I told VP Joe Biden that I loved him on Parks and Recreation, I am glad he has a sense of humor.

How did you spend your month?