DIY: Floral Headband

Hello again everybody! I want to start off with my apology. I realize its been a while since I have posted and I have missed sharing my adventures with y’all dearly. My life has changed dramatically this month- I’m hoping for the better. I am transitioning from a self-diagnosed insomniac to an early riser, and it has been tough. I invite any tips and suggestions for how to wake up early, quick/easy healthy breakfast options, anything would be appreciated.

Anyhoo, this is all to explain my absence this month as I transition into this new lifestyle. For my post today I would like to share a really easy tutorial for a floral headband. Hope you enjoy!

20131023-231752.jpg

I attended a Day of the Dead festival this past weekend and was looking for a few festive ways to celebrate the day. I decided on making a floral headband inspired by photos of La Catrina – the main exhibit at the Mexic-Arte museum who was hosting the event. I am so happy with the final product considering how quick and cheap this project was to execute.
20131023-231818.jpg

20131023-231834.jpg

The first step was gathering the supplies. I found a beautiful wedding bouquet full of tiny little roses for $8 and a $2 plain black headband, all from Michael’s with a 40% off coupon. I already had a hot glue gun and glue sticks on hand and got to work.

20131023-231856.jpg

Next, I separated the flower from the stems by pulling them off. Some of these were tricky, but nothing a pair of scissors couldn’t fix. I arranged the flowers around the crown, playing around with the formation until I was satisfied.
20131023-231914.jpg

20131023-231939.jpg

The next few steps are pretty obvious. I started at the middle of the headband, added a glob of glue under each rose and held on for 15 seconds. At first I thought 5 roses would be enough, but I forgot how large my head actually is and added two more roses on each side, making it 9 roses total. (If you have an average size head, 5 should be fine. It worked for my friend who came by to make one before heading down to the festival.)

20131023-232006.jpg

And you are done! I left it to dry for about an hour and headed downtown for the festival! Pictured below are two of my favorite altars from the day. If you are ever in the Austin area in mid-October I definitely encourage you to check out the “Viva la Vida” festival hosted by Mexic-Arte every year. I plan to make it a tradition of my own and hope to dress a little more for the occasion. Let me know if you give this a try! Day of the Dead is November 2nd, you still have time to make one of your own!20131023-232036.jpg

20131023-232055.jpg

p.s. I hope you enjoyed the sneak peek of my manicure of the month, coming soon!