Through My Lens: July

July came and went in a flash this year! I know, I say that every month, but it feels like I was looking forward to this month all year! As I have been planning for my vacation all year. And now it has come and gone. But that is ok, it means I am one step closer to some of my goals and I can start planning my next vacation/adventure! Anyhoo, here are a few snap shots of my wonderful month!

20130731-201843.jpg

I took this picture on my way to lunch at my favorite pizza place in Austin with my friend. Little did I know that this quick picture was going to be the quickest pick me up for me all month. My car has broken down 3 times this month and my poor dad has had to make 6 hour trips each time it has broken down to help fix it. I was feeling so guilty and useless this month but am glad I surround myself with positive people and was able to continue smiling through it all. And of course I am forever grateful for my father and all of his self-taught skills.

20130731-201915.jpg

As I mentioned above, I took my trip to Los Angeles this month!!!! Oh my gosh, I had such a great time! I mean, the picture of the delicious cronut above can really sum it all up. As soon as I arrived, one of my favorite people scooped me up and we picked up a few cronuts (croissants turned to donuts). The beauty above that I could hardly finish was maple-bacon flavored while she went the safe route and chose a nutella cronut. We enjoyed these at the beach and although I was a little sick from my flight, I felt at peace near the beautiful ocean. I can’t wait to go back!

20130731-201932.jpg

Sigh, another day at the beach during my vacation. We spent my second day in California in Newport Beach whale watching followed by a picnic at the beach. While my friend took a nap, I was able to enjoy my new book by my favorite young adult author, Sarah Dessen, and my favorite treat, cotton candy. It was seriously amazing and I wish I could spend every weekend at the beach.

20130731-202006.jpg

Our next stop was Hollywood Boulevard. Which is possibly more obnoxious to walk through than Times Square…and that says a lot. But I just had to go to revisit the autograph floor in front of the Chinese Theater, more specifically, John Travolta’s little section! Since I can remember, John Travolta has been my favorite actor, and it had been years since I visited LA and his handprints. I wanted a current picture with them. Unfortunately his star was gone 😦 it was moved temporarily due to construction. It may have been for the best, last time I saw it I laid down on Hollywood Blvd to take a picture with it, and that cannot be sanitary.

20130731-202041.jpg

The only real souvenir I bought, a cute little magnet to accompany the ones I bought in New York two years ago. Sigh, I already miss my days in LA, especially the weather! I am so grateful I was able to take a little trip this year that included visiting three dear friends from high school and my fathers family that I have not seen in 7 years! I hope they all know how blessed I feel to have them in my life and I cannot wait for the day that I am able to see them all again!

20130731-204130.jpg

Last but not least, a picture with one of my closest friends, Tanya. Thank you so much for opening up your home to me that weekend and for battling traffic to pick me up from and take me to the airport. I am glad that throughout all these years and with the hundreds of miles and state lines that separate us, our friendship continues to thrive. And may it continue this way. Anyhoo, here we are before Mean Girls started at the park and before we devoured delicious trailer food.

As you can see, my month pretty much consisted of food, car repairs and more food. Once again, I apologize for not posting too many DIY’s or budget finds this month, I felt swamped. Now that I am back to my routine, I hope to continue sharing that part of my life with y’all soon!

Til then, I hope everyone has enjoyed their month as much as I have!

2 thoughts on “Through My Lens: July

Leave a comment