12 Days of Christmas: Candy Christmas Ornaments

Welcome to the 4th day of my 12 Days of Christmas series, where I am sharing easy and affordable ways to get your house prepared for the holidays. Today, I am excited to share a huge sneak peek at the theme for my Christmas tree this year. Make sure to check back for the tree reveal this Friday! For now, I have a tutorial for the simple ornaments that will adorn my tree this season.

20131209-164933.jpg

First, I popped in one of my favorite holiday movies, Serendipity, and gathered all of my supplies. I scored this bin of glass ornaments at Wal-Mart for $2.50 and knew I would be making my own ornaments again this year. I knew I wanted colorful, statement pieces so I also picked up some glossy varnish, sprinkles and an old tube of flocking powder from a nail art trend fail.

20131209-164952.jpg

Next, I poured in a few drops of varnish, just enough to coat the entire ornament, and swirled it around until it coated the inside with a thin layer.

20131209-165023.jpg

I flipped each ornament upside down to allow the remaining varnish to drip out of the opening. I let the varnish set for about 10 minutes before I continued.

20131209-165047.jpg

Then came the fun and incredibly messy part, pouring in the sprinkles. In hindsight, I should have created a tiny funnel to be more precise as I poured. I don’t think I will ever be able to de-sprinkle my carpet. I shook each ornament until the inside was fully coated.

20131209-165108.jpg

I set these aside to dry overnight. I just love all of the different colors in each ornament. I hope the lights on my tree don’t melt the sprinkles…

20131209-165122.jpg

Next, I picked up the bottle of ridiculously expensive flocking powder and funneled it into each ornament. Then a little shake, shake, shake and they were set aside to dry.

20131209-165139.jpg

I was so glad to find a use for the flocking powder, it gives an excellent cotton candy texture look to my ornaments.

20131209-165152.jpg

This was the perfect project to complete while watching Christmas movies. I cannot wait to show you how these came out and how they look on my tree!

Until then, I hope everyone has a fantastic week!

6 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas: Candy Christmas Ornaments

Leave a Reply

