Manicure of the Month: Watercolor Manicure

20130415-202634.jpg
I am really loving the springtime this year. The heat is tolerable, rain is feeding our lakes and the wildflowers are in full bloom. To show off how much I am loving this time of year, I decided on a bright manicure fit for the season.

After discovering the amazing nail tutorials by MissJenFabulous I stumbled upon the coolest watercolor manicure. It’s a different take on the whole water marble look that I cannot seem to master, I just knew I had to try it.

For a full video tutorial, check out her blog HERE.

20130415-202727.jpg
I chose three bright spring colors from my collection. The teal is from Old Navy, the fuschia color is by Forever 21 and the coral by Essie. Unfortunately most of the labels are rubbed off and I don’t have any names for the polishes, my apologies. These three colors were in constant rotation on my nails last spring, it was only fitting that they make an appearance in this manicure.

20130415-202805.jpg

And there it is, after a thick coat of Julep’s Polymer Free topcoat to blend in all the colors, I was good to go.

20130415-202824.jpg
The only special tool you need to achieve this look is a plastic sandwich baggie to blend in all the colors. The basic step to the tutorial is randomly placing globs of each polish on your nail (I made two globs per color), place the plastic baggie over your nail and gently pat down each color to make sure they are blended together. Wait for them to dry, apply a topcoat and you are done. This is all explained in the video tutorial I followed, linked above.

20130415-202848.jpg
This has been such an easy manicure but by far one of my favorites. It reminds me of a tie-dyed shirt (which I am dying to make this year). I hope some of you will give this a try! If you do, don’t forget to send me some pictures 🙂

I hope everyone’s week is off to a good start! Talk to y’all soon!

Leave a Reply

