DIY: Baby Washcloth Bouquet

20130403-235330.jpg
I have another fun DIY baby shower gift for y’all! Today at work we celebrated one of my favorite co-workers with a beautiful baby shower. There was food, balloons and lots of fun. Because I could only stay for 15 minutes, I wanted to surprise her with a thoughtful and creative gift.
My fun times in New Orleans left me low on cash so I decided to browse through Pinterest til I found a useful and presentable gift. I found hundreds of tutorials for do it yourself baby shower gifts and decided on a bouquet made out of terry washcloths. Keep reading for the how to!

20130404-001548.jpg
I found this bushel of baby’s breath for $3.96 at Walmart and a cylinder vase for $1 and snagged both up. All that was left to do was trim the stems and add water.
I found the cutest little washcloths with rubber duckies for $5.96 and got to work. With my little sisters help, this entire project took about 5 minutes to complete.

20130404-002042.jpg
Start off by laying the terry cloth flat, tag side up.

20130404-002458.jpg
Fold in to thirds, bringing both top and bottom toward the center.

20130404-002608.jpg
Flatten out any wrinkles and fold in half one last time.

20130404-002724.jpg
Starting at one end and keeping the other end taut, fold a corner diagonally and begin rolling to the other side.

20130404-002925.jpg
Make sure to roll up as you go to create the petal effect.

20130404-003128.jpg
And you’re done! Secure the end with tape and work on the rest of the washcloths.

20130404-003237.jpg
Insert a wooden dowel, I found mine at the dollar store, to create the stem.

20130404-003423.jpg
Arrange them into the vase naturally throughout the arrangement. And you are done! You can finish the look off with some ribbon or tulle, I chose to keep mine simple.

20130404-003708.jpg
Here I am with the mother-to-be before I had to go back to my meeting. Doesn’t she look happy?!
This arrangement was a hit at the shower as it also served as a centerpiece at the cake table. For just over $10 I was able to present her with thoughtful handmade gift she loved!
I think homemade gifts are the best because I get to personalize them.
Does anybody have a favorite homemade gift they have received? What kind of gifts do you give at a baby shower? I cannot wait til the baby is born to create a few more gifts from my Pinterest search.
Talk to y’all soon!

Leave a Reply

