What One Bookshelf Can Do To A Wall

I want to share my newest little project with you all. A few weeks ago I noticed a blank space on one of my walls.

20121201-031246.jpg

This is the little piece of wall between my living room and dining room area. I’ve had this awesome portrait of Kanye West up since I moved in back in May but that’s it. So I decided to add a little bookshelf to make this space a little more interesting.

20121201-031521.jpg

But first, a little close up of the portrait. My best friend gave this to me last Christmas and I love it! She bought it in New Orleans off a street artist. It looks like a charcoal piece. The details are amazing and it really looks like him when he is performing. Yes I love Kanye West enough to hang him up in my home. Yes I know some of you are judging me but I think he’s a genius.

20121201-032013.jpg

And moving on 🙂 here is the new space! I still need some candles for the candlesticks, which were $5 for the set at Goodwill, but have not decided on what color to get. Anyhoo, I think it adds so much more to the once empty wall, don’t you think?

20121201-032253.jpg

Ok, so this is the first bookshelf I built by myself. I was so proud of myself for building it in less than an hour! I stood it up from the floor to add the shelves and noticed I nailed in the top board backwards. Whoopsie! After I laughed at myself for a good hour and trying to take the tiny nails off the back to fix this, I decided to improvise and place this lace over the top. And voila! Crisis averted.

20121201-032934.jpg

20121201-033044.jpg

20121201-033152.jpg

I am loving this new change. And I am glad I found a spot for new plant! I added one of my favorite little owls and a picture frame to match. I absolutely adore this picture of me with two of my favorite friends. It’s always a good time with my awesome friend Adrian and my best friend.

20121201-033541.jpg

And the bookshelf. Bookshelf styling is not my thang but I’m really trying to learn. I did my best but this is definitely a work in progress. I added a few board games on the bottom shelf for easy access. I grabbed a few books from my collection and a few knick knacks, another owl, a framed flower painting, among other things.

Anyhoo, here is my newest little addition. If you have any styling tips for bookshelves send them my way!

I hope everyone has a great weekend. Get ready for my upcoming holiday posts! Coming to you starting next week!

2 thoughts on “What One Bookshelf Can Do To A Wall

Leave a Reply

