Finding My Green Thumb

Does anybody remember the old, and I mean old, cartoon movie with the little troll with a green thumb? Google has confirmed, this troll who can make flowers appear through cracks on the concrete sidewalk is from one of my childhood favorite movies called, A Troll In Central Park. Anyhoo, I did not mean to begin writing a movie review, I was just reminded of this movie this past weekend. In the movie, the evil witch who punishes the troll for conjuring too many flowers with his green thumb, uses her own purple (and evil) thumb to turn everything to stone. I think I am her.

A few months ago, my mom gave me a plant to begin my patio garden. It was so sweet of her to pot it for me and include careful instructions for care. However, I still managed to kill it. It survived a whole two weeks with me. Granted I was out of town for a few days, but my mom confirmed it should not have dried up that quickly. My mom has the greenest thumb I know.

This past weekend I was lucky to have my parents come for a visit. My car broke down last week and my father came to fix it. While he was at work, my mom suggested going to buy more plants and following her specific instructions this time. I decided to start out with two, one with blooming flowers, the other an air purifying plant. Here they go:


I really love the colors here. Totally my style, and they match my couch! I am hoping to find a spot for them in my living room.

Is this not the prettiest little pot you have ever seen? I am a sucker for sugar skulls. Unfortunately my mom said this was way too small for the plant and it would not help it grow.

Here is my momma doing the dirty work for me.

And here they are! New soil and new big pots to help them stay healthy and grow. I think I will stick with these two for now and will hopefully add to my collection come springtime.

For now, these are both on my dining room table until I can find their permanent spots. I am so happy my mom suggested this. It is going to be nice to have this greenery in my home during the winter months.

Does anybody have any suggestions on how I should take care of these? Or any easy plants I can handle?

Leave a Reply

