Definitions

I have been having a really hard time trying to define my personal style and figuring out how to express myself and still make sense. That sentence probably didn’t make sense! Anyhoo, what I mean is, I wear many hats, as most of us do. As I change in and out of those hats, at work, school, home or at a bar, my style changes with those. These are all difficult to translate as I am decorating my home.
I was inspired after reading a post from one of my favorite blogs, she decided to take a few style quizzes to narrow down her decorating style definition. I love the combination she came up with, I almost want to steal it, she came up with a shared definition along with her partner of “modern thrift store chic”. I feel like that definitely describes me as well. And I feel that is what my home looks like, along with some DIY and some bougie-ness (I don’t think that’s a word!) thrown all in there. But I am really trying to come up with a solid term I can tell my mom or sisters in case they are wanting to know for a little housewarming gift 🙂 Without further ado, here are the results from the style quizzes I took. And really all I did was type in “design decorating style quiz” and these are the chosen ones.
My first try was from the Ethan Allen website. Although their pieces are always beautiful, they are definitely out of my frugal price range. The quiz was relatively easy, two pictures appeared side by side and you choose the one that speaks to you! The results:
my signature lifestyle is

elegance

We’ve analyzed your selections – your Signature Lifestyle is Elegance. Elegance is the essence of timeless sophistication. A seamless composition of quintessentially classic design elements, reinterpreted through streamlined scale and shape. Luxurious yet beautifully livable. A cosmopolitan mix of clean woods paired with chic, enduring fabrics.

* I am actually really happy with this conclusion! “Timeless Sophistication” I really wish this is how I always presented myself lol but I do think it definitely describes my beautiful couch! And it’s a good kick start and reminder as I am shopping this weekend.

Next I tried one from Home Goods, which is an excellent store that I frequent.


Sonia
, You Are A BOHEMIAN ECLECTIC

You have wide-ranging interests and influences and so appreciate a mix of styles, cultures, periods, and objects. You would never use a matching suite of furniture or want a home that seemed cookie-cutter. You have an artist’s eye that enables you to mix the old or the unusual with the new and modern. When traveling, you seek out unique objects that reflect what you love, and you use them in a sophisticated way. Your home is visually intriguing and comfortable, with a delightful mix of cozy chairs, ethnic fabrics, elegant pieces, hand-made items, even a little touch of quirk or humor, all of which gives your place a laid-back, Bohemian feel.

You value comfort. Your home is a warm and open friendly place, and you feel happiest when everyone is cared for and relaxed in your space. Elements like pillows, throws, overstuffed furniture, and good lighting set the mood. You may also enjoy layering different fabrics or mixing patterns to create a cozy effect.

I think this one definitely nailed it! And the great thing about these results is that they are extended (I didn’t include everything) and they give more concrete examples of how to achieve the look. I love being described as eclectic. A lot of my pieces definitely express my eclectic side and I am going to keep that in mind during my thrifting trips this weekend!

My last stop was realsimple.

D. Vintage Eclectic: You go for history, quirks, and curves. A rich, layered look combining flea-market finds, furniture designs from various time periods, and a diverse collection of accessories and artwork appeals to you. Dusty colors, timeworn or handmade textiles, and collected objects create a lived-in feel. Think Paris flea markets, Granny’s teacups, the film Grey Gardens. 

Jackpot! This definitely hit it on the nail! I feel like most of my trinkets are so diverse and collected from so many different places and my job now is making them seem cohesive and complementary.

To sum it all up into one term that I am happy with……now that is tough. For now I am going to try “vintage eclectic elegance”, except I don’t really think that rolls off the tongue very nicely. But it is what I will keep in mind as I decorate!

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

